Ninth Annual Douglas C. Frith Dinner

The Ninth Annual Douglas C. Frith Fundraising Dinner took place at the Ottawa Convention Center on October 23, 2013. Mr. Pat Cox, current President of the Former Members Association of the European Parliament, President of the European Parliament from 2002 to 2004, special European Parliament representative on justice issues in Ukraine and head of the Alliance Française Dublin, spoke about ''The Economy, the Euro and EU - Canada Free Trade'' to an audience of 300 senior representatives of Canada's business community, serving Senators and Members of the House of Commons, former Parliamentarians, senior public servants and youth representatives.




Welcoming Remarks

Mr. Léo Duguay

President, Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians



 Introduction of Guest Speaker

The Honourable Noël A. Kinsella

Speaker of the Senate


Special Address

Mr. Patrick Cox

Former President - European Parliament

“The Economy, the Euro and EU – Canada Free Trade”


Thank You to Guest Speaker

The Honourable Andrew Scheer, M.P.

Speaker of the House of Commons


Closing Remarks

Mr. Russell Williams, President, Rx&D, Presenting Sponsor


Acknowledgements and Prize Draws

Mr. Léo Duguay


Conclusion of dinner




Left, Hon. Noël A. Kinsella, Speaker of the Senate.  Right, Patrick Cox, Former President of the European Parliament  and CAFP President Léo Duguay.


Left, Léo Duguay, Hon. Peter VanLoan,  Hon. Noël A. Kinsella, Patrick Cox and Russell Williams, President, Rx&D, Presenting Sponsor. Right, Arlene Nicholson and Léo Duguay.


Additional pictures were taken during the event and are available on our Flickr site for easy download. For pictures of the event, please click here.


Patrons and Sponsors

The Educational Foundation of the Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians would like to thank our 2013 Presenting Sponsor for their generous contribution.


We would also like to thank our 2013 Dinner Patrons for their generous contributions.



And our thanks to our 2013 Dinner Sponsors:

Bell Canada


Canadian Medical Association

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada


Enbridge Inc.

Export Development Corporation

Global Public Affairs


Insurance Bureau of Canada

Motorola Canada

OmniTRAX Canada


Power Corporation of Canada

Pratt & Whitney Canada

Sussex Strategy Group

The Railway Association of Canada

VIA Rail Canada Inc.


Previous Dinner (2012)



Copyright © 2018 Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians.