2010 Lifetime Achievement Award – The Rt. Hon. Don Mazankowski

The Rt. Hon. Don Mazankowski, a former Member of Parliament who proudly represented the riding of Vegreville, Alberta, was honoured on Wednesday, May 19, 2010 with the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of a lifetime of service to the people of Alberta and of Canada.  The award was presented during a gala dinner in Calgary attended by several hundred former colleagues as well as a host of local dignitaries and members of the provincial legislature.  A video tribute was prepared and is available below.  The speech delivered by Mr. Mazankowski during the evening is available here.

Don Mazankowski was elected in 1968 as a Member of Parliament for Vegreville, Alberta and served as a Cabinet Minister under two prime ministers and as Deputy Prime Minister from 1986 to 1993.  Since retiring from politics in 1993, Mr. Mazankowski continues to serve Alberta and Canada.  He was founding chair of the Institute of Health Economics, chair of the Premier’s Advisory Council Report on Health Care (The Mazankowski Report) as well as a member of the Board of Governors of the University of Alberta, and is currently a director for a number of major Canadian corporations.

CAFP President Léo Duguay (left) presents the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award to
the Rt. Hon. Don Mazankowski (right) in Calgary on May 19, 2010.

Video tribute to the Rt. Hon. Don Mazankowski