Lifetime Achievement Award

Created in 2010, the Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a former member of parliament for their exceptional service to the public of Canada before, during, and after their Parliamentary career.

The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to The Hon. Jean Charest.






Past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award:

2018 – The Hon. Bob Rae.
2014 – The Hon. Michael Wilson
2012 – Mrs. Alexa McDonough
2011 – The Hon. Ed Lumley
2010 – The Rt. Hon. Don Mazankowski

Past Recipients

Distinguished Service Award

Included in the Act to create the Association, the Distinguished Service Award (DSA), honours the “unsung heroes”, men and women who served with distinction in parliament and afterwards and whose contribution often goes unnoticed. The DSA is awarded each year as part of the proceedings of the CAFP Annual General Meeting.

The 2019 Distinguished Service Award was presented to Marlene Catterall. 

Previous Distinguished Service Award recipients:

2018– The Honourable Don Boudria
2017 – The Honourable Bryon Wilfert
2016 – The Honourable Jack Murta
2015 – The Honourable David MacDonald
2014 – The Honourable Michael Kirby
2013 – The Honourable Bill Blaikie
2012 – The Honourable Reverend Walter McLean
2011 – Mr. Jim Hawkes
2010 – Mr. Keith Penner
2009 – The Honourable Douglas Roche, O.C.
2008 – The Honourable Sheila Finestone, P.C.
2007 – The Honourable Jacques Hébert, O.C.
2006 – Mr. Wilton (Willie) Littlechild, Q.C.
2005 – Mr. J. Roland Comtois
2004 – Dr. Bruce Halliday
2003 – Ms. Aideen Nicholson
2002 – The Honourable John M. Reid
2001 – Mr. Douglas M. Fisher
2000 – Mr. Stan Darling
1999 – The Honourable John Ross Matheson

Nominations & Selection

In advance of each AGM, members in good standing are invited to nominate a fellow former parliamentarian as a candidate for the Distinguished Service Award. A selection committee of members in good standing is struck by the President of CAFP to choose the recipient from among the submissions.  The selection is based on the contribution of the nominees to public life while in office and their continued interest in the promotion of human welfare and democratic development in Canada and abroad.

The recipient is announced during a special ceremony at the AGM.