Bob Rae – 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award

On May 16th, 2018, CAFP presented the Honourable Bob Rae with a Lifetime Achievement Award during a gala dinner in Toronto. Former colleagues in the Parliament of Canada and the Ontario Legislature, leaders in Canada’s first nations, business and labour community, friends and admirers gathered to honour his achievements before, during, and after his time in Parliament, which were noted by several speakers and in this tribute video click here.

Bob Rae is one of Canada’s most gifted politicians. During his 40-year political career, he has served in both the House of Commons and the Legislative Assembly of Ontario. He was the NDP Premier of Ontario from 1990 to 1995 and interim leader of the Liberal Party of Canada form 2011 to 2012. He has handled a wide range of complex and sensitive public policy assignments, both domestic and international, with skill and passion. Since leaving public life in 2013 to join the firm of Olthius Kleer Townshend LLP, Bob Rae has devoted his energies to First Nations’ issues. Acknowledging his deep understanding of public affairs and his ability to find solutions to difficult problems, Prime Minister Trudeau recently appointed Rae as Special Envoy to Myanmar.

Yet, Bob Rae is far from ready to retire. His eloquent and entertaining acceptance speech at the Dinner, demonstrated that he is proud to be a politician, notwithstanding the low esteem in which the profession is held, and that he still has fire in the belly. Please take a few moments to watch it now by clicking here.

CAFP is grateful for the generous support of the organizations and individuals listed below for making this event possible.

Presented by

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsors


Bombardier Inc.
The Cable Shop
Carpenter’s District Council of Ontario
Council of Ontario Universities
Diamond Corp
Ellis Don
Fondation Mi Corazon
Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan
Charitable Foundation
Goodmans LLP
Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP
The Hal Jackman Foundation
Homewood Research Institute

Margaret McCain
Olthuis, Kleer, Townshed LLP
OP Trust
Porter Airlines
Price Waterhouse Cooper
The Rae Family
Richard Wernham
Rogers Communications Inc.
TD Bank
The Tapscott Group

The Lifetime Achievement Award was created in 2010. The award is presented during a special event to honour former members of the Parliament of Canada for their exceptional service to the public of Canada before, during, and after their Parliamentary career. Past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award are: